Independent Project – First Thoughts

28 02 2011

*A sample mile-marker with set text that has a usefull purpose.

I am starting to really think about this project and how it will all come together. Hopefully the mercury will get out of the negatives soon and I will be able to pour my first concrete slab for testing.

I intend on making some sort of slab, or mile-marker type shape out of concrete and either place an engraved plaque on it or stamp letter shapes directly into the surface. The message needs to be as unimportant as possible. Kanye West’s tweets were mentioned. I like this idea because there seems to be a trend of following Kanye West’s tweets and repurposing them, such as singing them, or even putting them into golden frames.
Placement of these concrete structures will also be something I want to work with. The implication that these are very important messages through the use of material and placement is my goal on this project.

I spotted an official sign this morning as I came out of the skytrain and wondered what it might look like if I swapped out the text for a Kanye West tweet, mimicking the fonts and sizes exactly. I could take a photo and replace it with the Kanye West version in Photoshop. I may explore this idea further.

*Image source: Flicker: Christopher Busta-Peck
http://flic.kr/p/2UaSmy


Actions

Information

Leave a comment